Board of Commissioners

The 7-member Board of Commissioners is the governing body of the County, which is divided into 7 equally populated districts. Each district holds approximately 2,000 residents. Each Commissioner is chosen through an election to serve a single district for a two-year term of office.

The powers and responsibilities of the Crawford County Board of Commissioners include:

  • Establish and formulate county policies
  • Establish annual county property tax millage rate
  • Adopt ordinances and rules
  • Adopt annual county budget and long-range capital improvement program
  • Adopt the county development plan
  • Adopt and enforce rules establishing the authority, duties and responsibilities of county departments and offices

The Board operates under a committee system. There are three  standing committees:

  • Law Enforcement
  • Personnel and Labor
  • Way’s and Means

These committees facilitate the many items of business for which the Board of Commissioners is responsible by reviewing information and making recommendations for consideration by the entire Board.


Gypsy Moth Management Strategies REFINED

200 W. Michigan Ave
Grayling, MI 49738
Phone: (989) 344-3202 (Administrator/Controller)


Crawford County Master Plan 2014- adopted-reduced size